North Shore Blues


The north shore of Maui Hawaii.

But seriously. Those tropical blues. Sometimes they just don’t seem real.


When we first landed on Maui a few years back, the north shore was the very first beach experience for us. We had been here only about 3 days and we hopped on the city bus (our Toyota was being shipped across the Pacific) and made our way to Paia. When we walked up over that little hill, and the beautiful turquoise water I’ve ever seen with my own eyes came into view …. I can vividly remember my heart skipping a beat and my brain literally almost exploded.

NS1
Paia Bay. June 2013

It has and always will have a blue heart stamped onto my heart.

This morning we got a late start and I told my daughter that we needed to go take the dog for a walk. “Park or beach?” I asked her. In perfect teenage form she replied “I don’t care. Wherever.” Real talk here: Here’s what it comes down to in my brain when I’m trying to decide between them: cleaning sand off the dog for 10 minutes and dealing with snarles for days from wind blown hair ORRR a quiet, steamy sweat-filled time at the park? Decisions. Real problems, I know.


The beach won and I’m so glad it did. Of course it was whipping wind from the second we got out of the truck. But somehow it blows the “crazy” away for a little while.


The erosion is kind of a crazy thing. We’ve seen many trees come down over the years. This stretch of beach is pretty fascinating though.


From Kanaha to Ho’okipa, the north shore just offers a different vibe from the rest of Maui. Ask the peeps who hang out there. The aloha frequency is just fresher. I don’t exactly know what it is, but I love it.


Maybe it’s because I’m from “the north” (Minnesota) and you just can’t take that out of the girl? Maybe there’s less people and more quiet? Maybe it’s looking out straight ahead to the north and seeing only endless ribbons of green and blue? Whatever it is, I truly love time spent on the north shore.

Leave a comment